Concealed Weapons Permit

***ALL NEW Concealed Weapon Permit applications are now being  accepted at either the Coeur d'Alene or Post Falls Driver's License Office***

Coeur d'Alene Driver's License: 451 Government Way CdA ID 83815

Post Falls Driver's License: 120 Railroad Ave, Post Falls, ID 83854

CONCEALED WEAPONS PERMIT - 2 step process. 2 APPOINTMENTS to receive CCW permit.

  • Application is turned into office, payment due and Sheriff’s Office staff will fingerprint applicant. 
  • Application is sent to state for processing.
  • When completed, approval letter will be sent.
  • Applicant will make a PHOTO APPOINTMENT to have photo taken and temporary license issued.

View details of the Idaho Concealed Weapons Law, Section 18-3302

BY APPOINTMENT ONLY  - (one person per appointment) Appointment Description BELOW:   

NEW – Turn in application, payment due & Sheriff’s office staff will fingerprint applicant 

RENEWAL – Turn in application

PHOTO – Photo taken 


QLESSis here! You can now schedule an appointment using your computer or mobile device. To access QLESS click on the icon below.

QLESSClick here for the CDA Driver’s License CWP location

QLESSClick here for the Post Falls Driver's License CWP location

• Monday – Friday 9am-3:30pm. 
• New CWP Applications or CWP’s in process – use one of the links above to schedule appointment

To download the app to your mobile device, use your phone or tablet to access one of the links below:

⇨  QLess app for Android
QLess app for iOS

Permit Fees

The CDA and PF Driver’s License Offices now accepts both cash and credit cards. NO CHECKS. Paying by credit card there is an additional charge.
Permit Fee
Duplicate $5.00
Initial/Enhanced $53.25
Late Fee (91-180 days expired) $10.00
Renewal $30.00
Retired LE Permit $25.00
Retired LE Renewal $17.00


Applying for a Standard Permit

  • You must complete a concealed weapons application.
  • Make sure Drivers License has your current address.
  • Proof of Firearms training. (I.e. Hunters Safety, DD214 or training certificate from Idaho Sheriff's Association)
  • The Idaho Sheriff's Association offers an online handgun safety training course that satisfies the firearms familiarity requirements for a basic Idaho Concealed Weapons License.  Click on the following link to access the site.

Applying for an Enhanced Concealed Weapons Permit (ECWP)

  • Enhanced Concealed Weapons applications are available at the Kootenai County Sheriff’s Office.
  • You must provide a valid driver’s license, a signed copy of the Idaho Enhanced Concealed Weapons Training Form that has been completed and signed by both a valid firearms and legal instructor. Dated within 1 year for the course.
  • Fees are paid in Cash or Credit Card at the time of application.
  • If you are an Idaho resident you need 6 consecutive months of residency before applying. Residency starts by driver's license issued date. Please call if you have any questions.
  • Residents of another state are required to show a valid concealed license from their resident state.

Renewing Your Concealed Weapons Permit

  • You must complete a concealed weapons application and present your CWP permit.
  • Make sure Driver's License has your current address.
  • You can renew any time during the 90 day period before the expiration date for a $30.00 fee payable in cash or credit card only. Renewals taken more than 90 days after the expiration date are subject to a $10 late fee.