Patrol Division

Under operational command Captain Kevin Smart, the Bureau is organized into two major Divisions. The Patrol Division is comprised of the sworn patrol deputies, civilian personnel and volunteers.


The Patrol Division is dedicated to providing prompt and exceptional service during times of emergency or crisis to residents and business operators within the county. Patrol conducts the initial investigation of most crimes, addressing quality of life issues and conducting community outreach.

Special Teams

Some of the patrol personnel are also members of special teams within the division. Field Operation personnel serve on the:

  • Crowd Control Team
  • Department’s Honor Guard Team
  • District Deputies in the Community Policing Program
  • Field Training Officers
  • K-9 Unit
  • Regional Air Support Unit
  • SWAT Team
  • Traffic Team

Civilian Personnel

Civilian personnel in the Patrol Division serve as Animal Control Officers and Community Service Officers. Animal Control Officers deal with all types of domestic animals in the county and Community Service Officer assist patrol personnel with low risk calls to include reports, vehicle inspections, abandoned vehicles and crime prevention.